Untold Tales 13: Simply Happy, Hawaii, U.S.A

Wakiki Beach Panoramic I

I don’t like cold weather. In fact, I despise it. So imagine my excitement at trading the icy Korean winter for the spectacular and sunny magnificence of Hawaii, and just in time to celebrate New Year’s Eve 2011, Honolulu style.

Les NYE I

With only a few weeks to explore, The Chic Adventurer and I limited our stay to a couple of days on the chic but assiduous Wakiki Beach in Honolulu, Oahu, and the remainder on the more luscious and lackadaisical island of Maui.

 

Based out of the beach bum paradise of Paia, life in our post Korea lives slowed down immeasurably, and I for one spent most of my time horizontally on the numerous great beaches.

We enjoyed a magical sunrise on majestic Haleakala Volcano, and a meandering cliff top drive on the sublime Road to Hana. We gorged on too much of the food denied to us in Korea, eating at a couple of restaurants Leslie waitressed at as a younger adventurer, and as our metabolic rates went down, our appetites definitely went up.

Paia Beach Panoramic

When describing a place, I try not to use too many flowery adjectives. But writing about Hawaii, that’s difficult. So in summary, Hawaii is an amazing cluster of beautiful, wonderful, magical, fabulous, spectacular, gorgeous, fantastic, and mesmerizing tropical islands.

In a word? PARADISE!

Surfers B & W

Not the Nomad

Hana I

The Road to Hana

Les at Hana Falls

The Chic Adventurer at the Falls, Hana

Sunset at Makena Beach I

Makena Beach

Sunrise at Haleakala

Sunrise at Haleakala Volcano

Leave a Reply

