Untold Tales 21: Numb & Numb-er, Rockies, Canada

Rockies, Canada IEveryone loves a good road trip, and I’m no different.

So in late 2000 I rented a car, and drove clear across the Rocky Mountains from Calgary to Vancouver. Canada was the first stage of a 12 month world trip, and I didn’t have room for proper winter clothes in my backpack. Hence, with temperatures constantly -25c and lower, and with a wind chill of -40, never before or since have I been that cold. And despite the heater permanently on full blast, my travel partner and I still resembled ‘numb and numb-er.’

But the towering mountains, crystal clear lakes and vast ice fields of the Rockies provided me with some of the most inspiring landscapes I’ve been lucky enough to see. And to drive through the National Parks of Banff, Jasper and Glacier remains the most spectacular road trip I’ve ever taken. Yet!!

“It is good to have an end to journey toward; but it is the journey that matters, in the end.”
― Ernest Hemingway

Never a truer word spoken!   Please, sit back and enjoy the views.

Forget-me-not Lake I

Sundance

Rockies Panoramic

Banff Nat Park

Maligne

Maligne Lake

Lake Louise 1

All photos courtesy of the Nomad,

www.outdoorphotographycanada.com, and

www.jaspernationalpark.com

Leave a Reply

