The Tacos Are Dead, Long Live The Tacos

H & P VII

With very little spare time today due to our packing up and preparing for India, I’m taking a quick stroll down memory lane.

After a heavy partying weekend in Seoul in early Spring 2011, what better way to finish up than a few hours sitting on Busan’s Haeundae Beach, drinking beers and playing guitars. My friends John and Jay are excellent musicians, and while in Korea, they along with Dave and Angus formed an awesome band, ‘The Taco Handshake.’ Okay, they admit the name was never cool, but the songs are brilliant- LISTEN HERE. The lads played concerts in Busan, Daegu, Gyeongju and Daejeon, and always drew a lively crowd. Seeing the Taco’s play live are some of my greatest memories of living in Korea.

H & P V

H & P VI

Expats come and go in Korea, most staying just 1 or 2 years, so putting a band together is only ever temporary. Sadly, the Taco’s played for just about 18 months before the lads dispersed for their next adventures around the world. The Taco’s are gone, but will live long in the memory.

H & P II

H & P IIII

My favorite Taco song, Can You Bodge a Broken Heart.

H & P VIII

Tacos I

Tacos 2

Tacos 6

Taco 10

Tacos 5

Tacos 3

Taco 15

Taco 12

All Images by the Nomad…and Maria, Jay, John, Angus and Dave, though they don’t even know it. ROCK ON.

13 thoughts on “The Tacos Are Dead, Long Live The Tacos

    • Hey Terri. Yeah the lads were amazing and we’re all still great mates. Mostly packed, and we’ve a suitcase of clothes, art supplies etc that we’ll donate to the island’s community centre. Sad to leave my paints and brushes, but can’t carry everything as you well know. Thanks for the kind words, and a great weekend to you and James.

      Like

  1. Too cool! Thanks for sharing. It is kinda sad how expats come and go through certain places… Only a few end up staying in certain locations long term. But loved the songs! And I loved Busan. Would still love to connect about teaching. Never did get your email… But I won’t bother you with that now as I know you’re probably on your way to India! Safe travels!

    Like

    • Hey. I’ve decided that with 3 yrs experience teaching and living in Korea, I should probably share my knowledge. So, if you can hang on a few days, I’m going to write a post about it. Any specific questions you think need answering, besides the obvious culture, salary, lifestyle expectations etc? Chat soon.

      Like

      • Hey, of course I can wait! I look forward to the post. One thing I’m curious about (from a somewhat selfish perspective) is information on the school system. I actually did some research before and it seemed hagwons were *not* the best place to teach? Any thoughts?

        Like

      • For me hagwons are the best, but I have friends in the uni and public school system and they would say the same. If you’re a ‘real’ teacher, unlike me, then Uni is best, as generally the teaching is real, and there are 4 months paid vacation. Public school has lots of vacation, but less money and long hours, 8-5 plus some Saturdays. Hagwons, generally 3-9pm, better money, no weekends, easy schedule, more fun etc, but less holidays. In a nutshell, I prefer hagwons as I like my free time in the daytime for hiking and painting. Post to follow.

        Like

  2. Lovely. There’s a new band from my region of Korea, all foreigners, though I’m not sure how long they’ll stay together before they also go the way of the Tacos… at least the Internet keeps the music alive, right?

    Like

    • It was so much fun, and I hope your band give you as much fun. Where are you by the way? Love Korea, right? I’ve a couple of Korea posts coming soon…ahem, have you subscribed?

      Like

      • LOL nice marketing. I’m in Chungnam province until Christmas, when I’ve headed out with all the nice money I’ve saved! Haha.

        Looking forward to those posts!

        Like

  3. Pingback: To Teach Or Not To Teach? | Twenty First Century Nomad

  4. Pingback: “Three Little Boys,” a novel by John Hopton | Twenty First Century Nomad

Leave a Reply

